MB @117 » Manila Bulletin Lifestyle

Manila Bulletin Philippines

Breaking News from the Nation's leading newspaper


Online Newspaper

Showbiz and Celebrity News

Sports News

World News
News Asia

MB @117

The Manila Bulletin toasts to Philippine progress, renewing its commitment to inform, inspire, and empower the Filipino people


By Jacky Lynne A. Oiga
Images by Camille Ante, Manny Llanes, Jansen Romero,
Ali Vicoy,Richard Viñas, and Pinggot Zulueta

It was only fitting that the nation’s leading newspaper, The Manila Bulletin (MB), should celebrate its 117th anniversary with a party at The Manila Hotel on Feb. 2, driven by its rich history, venerable traditions, staying power, and tireless innovation.

Upon entering the hall of the Grand Dame’s Fiesta Pavilion, towering touch screen panels displayed The Manila Bulletin’s front pages through its 117years of existence—a stunning juxtaposition of preserving the old with the new, reinforcing the new with the old.

Opposite the panels are large-scale installations of MB’s monthly magazines: Agriculture, Animal Scene, Garage, Wedding Essentials, and Going Places. A sort of exhibit that corroborated MB’s sweeping repertoire of publications that caters to all sorts of readers.

Inside the more than 2,000-square-meter pavilion, the “smart” ballroom was bathed in blue light. “Manila Bulletin blue,” as MB artists’ like to call it , illuminated every nook and cranny, from the walls to the ornate ceilings, from the crystal palm tree décor to the playful table place cards. As guests poured in, they were welcomed by the chairman of the Manila Bulletin Publishing Corporation, Basilio C. Yap, who graciously thanked everybody for their undying support.

  • Former Press Secretary and MB Editor-in-Chief Dr. Jun Icban, Former Secretary and MB Executive Vice President Herminio Coloma, Secretary Ernesto Abella, Former Secretary Ignacio Bunye, Secretary Hermogenes C. Esperon, Jr., Deedee M. Siytangco, Secretary Jose Ruperto Martin M. Andanar, Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, Chairman Basilio C. Yap, Former President Fidel V. Ramos, Former Secretary Kit Tatad, Executive Director Frances Veronica Victorio, Former Chief Justice Hilario G. Davide, Jr., Former Senator Heherson Alvarez, and Secretary Hector RR Villanueva

  • President Rodrigo R. Duterte greets Manila Bulletin on its 117th Anniversary.

  • Jin Perez, Dr. Emilio C. Yap, III, and Michael Tan

  • Kevin Tan

  • Owen Cammayo

  • MH Executive VP Ricky Yap and Senator Dick Gordon

  • Secretary Mark Villar

  • Usec. Falconi V. Millar and Senator Sherwin T. Gatchalian

  • PCSO Chairman Jose Jorge E. Corpuz

  • Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban

  • Vice Mayor Honey Lacuna

  • Dr. Alberto P. Fenix, Jr.

  • Hon. Narciso Santiago

  • Usec. Rufino S. Lopez, Jr.

  • Lao Giok Chiao

  • Anna Katrina Yupangco

  • Michelle Kimberly Y. Chua of BAIC

  • BSP Deputy Governor and Mrs. Diwa Guinigundo

  • Ernesto O. Chan and Dr. Jaime C. Laya

  • Melito S. Salazar, Jr.

  • Brazil Embassy First Secretary Ricardo De Oliveira Serrano and Qatar Embassy Representative Nour Hamad Abubakar

  • Former Mayor Casimiro Ynares III

  • Br. Bienvenido C. Santiago of INC

  • Bing Pimentel and AA Patawaran

  • MB Advertising Vice President Arman Cabrera

  • Shirley Garcia, Nixie Cruz, Rachelle Ann Laureta, and Bryan Bautista of Xinjin Marcomm

  • Aurora Capellan Tan and Jordan Tan

  • Jeffrey Lim and Johnny Lugay

  • Carmen Ching Suva, Atty. Fe B. Barin, and Atty. Jose D. Lina

  • Vicente Edgardo C. Bartilad and Loreto D. Cabañes

  • Cecilia C. Colmenares

  • Mayor Jasmin Angelli Maligaya Bautista

  • Len Amadora and Jane Wan

  • Mara Coson

  • Jessie F. Sergote

  • William Carlos Uy

  • Dr. Lalaine Salazar and George Aquino

  • Rey David, Jr. of Greatwall Advertising

  • Anna Periquet of Metro Retail Group

  • Cristina Celine Aquino, Jason Sy-Teh, and Ralph Nicolo Manaloto, of Think Big Events

  • Susan Joven, Rachy Cuna, and Isabel de Leon

  • Mrs. Paciencia Pineda and Alicia Aldana

  • Zeny Seso, Betty Bernal, and Linda Makinika of Telenetwork

  • Joy Batas, Arlene Muega, Cherry Chanco, and Ron Delluta of Chandelle iMediaworkz

  • Director Tommy Casimiro, Patricia Martin, Minnie Clet, and staff of JDC Advertising

  • Mayor Dino Chua and Rhoda Luna of Ad Creator

  • Dindo Danao of A.Danao PR Consultancy

  • Jean Pagulayan, Jane Cruz, and Jade Cruz of Pushpin Inc.

    “Our newspaper has thrived for more than a century—through wars, regime changes, and trials. It has been its distinction of being the tapestry of Philippine history, defining the character of the Filipino nation. My father, the late Don Emilio T. Yap, always believed that our newspaper has a primary responsibility to contribute to nation-building,” Chairman Basilio said.

    Present at the party were former President and The Manila Bulletin columnist Fidel V. Ramos, Presidential Spokesperson Ernesto Abella, National Adviser Secretary Hermogenes Esperon, Jr., Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana, Sen. Win Gatchalian, former Sen. Heherson Alvarez, Comelec Chairman Andres Bautista, former Press Secretaries Francisco Tatad, Chito Villanueva, Ignacio Bunye, Jun Icban, Sonny Coloma, and current Press Secretary Martin Andanar.

    That night, the chairman, in behalf of the MB family, renewed the company’s resolve to continue serving as an exponent of Philippine congress. “We renew our commitment to work for the prosperity of our country and our people as we inform, inspire, and empower,” he said.

    After the ceremonial toast, the guests were invited to sample sumptuous dishes prepared by the Manila Hotel’s banquet team as the MSE music ensemble serenaded them with classical covers of pop songs.

    Tags: , , , , , , ,

    Related Posts